books on iPhone programming

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
iMac Core i5(3.6 GHz) 8 GB RAM, MBP C2Duo(2.4 GHz) 4 GB RAM, MB C2Duo(2.4 GHz) 2 GB RAM
I'm interested in learning to program for the iphone, but all the books I have seen so far talk about programming through reverse engineering and jail-breaking. Does anyone know of a book that deals with programming using the iphone sdk?

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Aluminium Macbook 2.4 Ghz 4GB RAM, SSD 24" Samsung Display, iPhone 4, iPad 2
I think there's supposed to be one coming out soon, but I'd imagine any book on the subject would at least want to include the AppStore and working with the 2.0 release of the firmware.

I've just started working through the latest edition of Aaron Hillegrass's "Cocoa Programming for OS X", which is pretty cool. I have zero Objective-C experience, but have leant most of the java basics, so this seems like quite a good jumping point.

OP
eliehass
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
iMac Core i5(3.6 GHz) 8 GB RAM, MBP C2Duo(2.4 GHz) 4 GB RAM, MB C2Duo(2.4 GHz) 2 GB RAM
yeah, i have never touched Objective-C, just C++ and Java. So you recommend that book as a good place to jump in until an iphone book is released?

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Yeah. From what I'm hearing from my developer colleagues that book is more or less the book to start learning Cocoa with.

Once you've understood the concepts, making the jump to iPhone apps isn't all that difficult since such a large part is more or less the same.

My moolah link to the book on Amazon

Edit:

I just read this in an interview with Aaron (bear in mind he's the author, so he might be a bit biased ;)):
Scott: Is the material in this book a good starting point for developers looking to hit the ground running with the iPhone SDK, or are the development concepts too different? Do you plan to write a book specific to iPhone development?