Where do I put files?

Reaction score
OK, total newbie switcher question.

I'm used to creating subject folders in Windows' "My Documents," and I keep my pictures and music indexed in folder hierarchies, which Itunes and Picasa are happy to respect.

Now with the Mac, I see I have a few main candidate directories, like Documents, Music, Movies, Pictures, etc. But it doesn't seem like I should just throw mp3 files straight into the "Music" directory or divx movies into the "Movies" directory, because it seems like programs use these folders to hold their own subfolders?

I let iTunes manage my music collection, so it threw all my songs into the "Music/Itunes/Itunes Music" folder. That's fine.

I imported my photos into iPhoto. Now they all seem to be sitting in a huge container file somewhere. So what if I don't want all my photos handled by iPhoto? Is there a "standard" or de facto good place to stick them? Straight in the Pictures folder? Do you create an "Other Photos" folder in the Pictures folder? The reason I ask is because I don't know if other applications will create their own folders within "Pictures" or "Movies" or somewhere else to store their own stuff. If that's the case, I don't want to dump jpgs there, as that'll clutter the space and break the "desired" hierarchy.

Same with Movies. I notice that iMovie and some other app place their own folders inside there. Does any other app, and if you have a bunch of DivX movies, where would they best go in the hierarchy? Would it be best under
/Movies/Bourne Ultimatum/bourneultimatum.avi
/Movies/Movie Files/Bourne Ultimate/bournultimatum.avi
/Documents/Movies/Bourne Ultimatum/bourneultimatum.avi?

What I'm trying to avoid is having folders for content interspersed in the same directory as folders for other applications, and I figure there's a more or less accepted standard for where to put things on a Mac...

I know I'm not doing the best job explaining what I want to do, but any help would be appreciated.