Battery Life: Problem?

Reaction score
I just recently got my MacBook Pro and I noticed that it doesn't charge to the mentioned 5 hours of life. It only goes to 3 hours and 40 minutes or 97%.

This may be because I upgraded to 4GB RAM and a 320HD. Can anyone confirm this?

Should I take this to the Apple store? I'm a videographer who is always on the move and battery life is very important to me.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
ibook g4, imac 2ghz c2d, mbp 2.4ghz c2d - 10.5.1
Batteries always loose some capacity over time. This is probably normal, to save more battery, reduce your screen brightness and reduce the cpu performance

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Mac Studio, M1 Max, 32 GB RAM, 2 TB SSD
This may be because I upgraded to 4GB RAM and a 320HD. Can anyone confirm this?

Just out of curiosity, which make/model of 320 GB HD did you select? Did you do the update yourself or get the Apple Store folks to do it?

I am thinking of exactly the same upgrade for my MBP - that is why I ask. I have been looking at Seagate's Momentus 7200.3 340 GB drive. It is on their web site, but they don't yet appear to be in the retail channel. All things in time.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
ibook g4, imac 2ghz c2d, mbp 2.4ghz c2d - 10.5.1
I think if you replace the hard drive the warranty is no longer active. Only ram allows the warranty to stay active

OP
O
Reaction score
Just out of curiosity, which make/model of 320 GB HD did you select? Did you do the update yourself or get the Apple Store folks to do it?

I am thinking of exactly the same upgrade for my MBP - that is why I ask. I have been looking at Seagate's Momentus 7200.3 340 GB drive. It is on their web site, but they don't yet appear to be in the retail channel. All things in time.

I actually just got this laptop off a friend's friend. It is just under two months old. He is an Apple Store employee and did it himself.