Whats right for me?

Reaction score
Im currently looking into buy either a top-o-the-line iMac or Macbook Pro...
24" iMac - 3.06ghz, 4 gigs yadda yadda
or
17" MBP - 2.5ghz 4 gigs... yadda yadda

Im a musician, and a gamer... Portability isnt mandatory, but would be nice for my music recording endevours..

i plan on using bootcamp and playing some Source based games and COD4... will the iMac greatly outperform the MBP or would you say the portability takes the cake...

also if i decide on the MBP will the 2.6 ghz give me that much of a performance boost FPS wise, and would the Hi-Res option be a bad idea as well... i would imagine that would put quite a bit of strain on the 8600m vid card... so should i stick with the normal Res.

Reaction score
You'll need at least a Quad-Core Mac Pro running Linux

Reaction score
How important is the portability to you? That's really what it boils down to.

Reaction score
Yep, I agree. I got the 20"iMac (caution, these take up more room than you think, I have a hutch on my desk and it's close) and a 13" MacBook for my husband's bday. Which, technophobe that he is, hasn't gotten near it yet. If I was in your situation, which obviously I'm not, I'd go for the MBP since I think DocZ06 is right. Good luck!

OP
P
Reaction score
Well I've decided on the 17" MBP but for my gaming en devours is the 2.6 that much more effective... and also... Hi-Res... not worth it?... im looking for more FPS here... i plan on playing Source games tf2 CSS... all that jazz... maybe some COD4

The LED and battery saving features is Tempting

Will the HiRes decrease performance that much?

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
17" MacBook Pro 4GB Ram, LED HD display, 200GB 7200RPM HD, 2.6GHz Intel Core 2 Duo; Macbook 2.4Ghz