MacBook Pro iSight questions

Reaction score
Hi,

This is my first post in the forum. I'm studying abroad in Spain next year and am currently in the market for a new notebook. I'm leaning toward getting a Macbook Pro, but have a few questions about the integrated web camera.

-How is the quality, overall?

-I've read that with older versions of iSight there was a short delay... is there a delay (either with video or audio) with the integrated cameras on the new Macbook Pros?

-This might show my techno ignorance, but I'll ask it anyway... will the fact that I'll be communicating with friends and family halfway around the world affect the fluidity of the conversation, or is it all about connection speed? I guess this sort goes along with the delay question -- will the cross-ocean distance add to any delay already present?

-Does anyone have a link to a sample iSight conversation, so I can get an idea of the quality?

-Any other thoughts?

Thanks in advance.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
13" Macbook Pro 2.26Ghz Unibody 4G RAM 160G HDD Superdrive
My wife and I have two Macbooks. Hers being black, mine being white. Built-in iSight, Core 2 Duo, the works. Back when she was in the hospital being observed prior to brain surgery we routinely used iChat with our built-in iSight cameras to 'visit' while she was in-patient. In fact, she was glomming onto someone's WiFi which was suspected to be in an adjacent dorm room across the street. It was quite impressive, and even the doctors were amazed that we were able to do this. Since we live rather far from the hospital this obviously saved time and fuel while allowing us to stay in touch during this difficult time.

I've video conferenced with my brother in law to help him set up his Apple TV, which he bought after he acquired his Macbook (which he was convinced to buy after I gave him an extensive demo of mine while we were in a hospital waiting room.)