eMac 10.3.9 to what - Tiger or Leopard???

Reaction score
As a Mac newbie I just read dozens and dozens of posts re: my question. My head is smoking and I am getting even more confused. My eMac is a 1.25ghz w/DVD, 512mhz of which I know little. However, I have been looking at a lot of shareware software and found most only runs on Tiger or above. This is why I like to upgrade the OS. This being an old machine, which BTW only has less than 100 hours total time on it, but don't want to throw good money after bad. Meaning, I don't want to spend a couple hundred dollars for a new OS. I was told I cannot go to 10.5 since this would cause the Mac to crawl. Have not been able to find out WHY. I would like to make friends with Macintosh but if it gets to complicated I buy a new PC box and install Linux. Hope someone can provide me with the help I'm looking for without getting to technical. Thanks

Reaction score
Well, the minimum requirements for running Leopard is 512 MB of RAM, so you're just making the cut. Tiger only requires 256 MB of RAM. I say, if you are going to upgrade you minds well go with Leopard. Whatever version you go with I would recommend upgrading your RAM too, 512 is pretty low.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacBook Pro 15" (Mid 2010), iPhone 3GS
I wouldn't advise running Leopard.

Minimum requirements to run the OS is 512 MB of RAM. Note that is JUST to run the OS. That doesn't include running a bunch of Apps with it. You'll be able to run the OS, but not much more.

I would stick to Tiger, unless you upgrade your ram.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
iMac 17" 1Ghz G4  iPhone 3G  10.5.5
*Although it is officially is not supported by Apple, this model can support up to 2 GB of RAM.
http://www.everymac.com/systems/apple/emac/stats/emac_1.25.html

http://eshop.macsales.com/MyOWC/Upgrades.cfm?model=199

http://www.crucial.com/mac/index.aspx