• Welcome to the Off-Topic/Schweb's Lounge

In addition to the Mac-Forums Community Guidelines, there are a few things you should pay attention to while in The Lounge.

Lounge Rules
    • If your post belongs in a different forum, please post it there.
    • While this area is for off-topic conversations, that doesn't mean that every conversation will be permitted. The moderators will, at their sole discretion, close or delete any threads which do not serve a beneficial purpose to the community.

Understand that while The Lounge is here as a place to relax and discuss random topics, that doesn't mean we will allow any topic. Topics which are inflammatory, hurtful, or otherwise clash with our Mac-Forums Community Guidelines will be removed.

Mac/PC Hybrid

R

rmanders

Hi all.

I am a student at college, and me and a group of friends have decided to do a quite prospective project.

We have decided to combine the cool design and aesthetics of the iMac, with the performance and compatibility of a PC. :doctor:

The plan is to get hold of an Apple iMac, remove most of the parts, leaving the CRT monitor, and anything else essential to hold the shell together.
We will then add a small PC motherboard and parts and attempt to combine the two. If this works, we will install either Windows or Linux on to the system, and away we go... :ninja:

As with all college project, this requires research. We want to know how you get on with your iMacs, and what you think is good about the design.

We would also like to know what you think to the project, and any technical assistance will also be greatly appreciated.

We will keep you up to date with the project, and we hope it works.

:p

rman

Retired Staff
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
14in MacBook Pro M1 Max 32GB 2TB
I just want to know why?

Is this an old iMac or new?

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacBook Pro 2.6 GHz Core 2 Duo 4GB RAM OS 10.5.2
Sounds like a troll :)

OP
R

rmanders