Switching: Advice required on hardware and software?

Reaction score
Hi everyone,

I am a photography and film student and am also looking to record music which I can make into a demo CD.

I intend to change to a Mac because I think this would probably be the best system for this type of use?

I will be using it for:

Photo editing
Video production
Music Production
Website creation and design
Flash animation development
Making podcasts

and then general word processing, web surfing etc and I wont be gaming.

So could I have reccomendations on Specs ? should I get an iMac or Mac pro (ideally I would like an iMac for size and cost) ? and which software would be good for the above uses ?

Thank you :)

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Mid 2009 MacBook Pro  Mid 2007 iMac  4G iPod Touch  iPhone 4S  iPad
An iMac would work. Not as well as a Mac Pro, of course, but it will work fine. I'd recommend a 2.4 or 2.8 GHz processor and max the ram out to 4GB.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
iMac 24" 2.4GHz 2GB RAM 320GB HD
iMac should be your choice, 24' no doubt (i have one and it was a smart choice) at least 2.4 Ghz processor, and ram 2 - 4 gb (i have 2, but don't do video editing)

as for the apps: If you have money

Aperture (Apple Product)for photoediting or,
Lightroom, although i prefer Aperture.

Final Cut Express (or pro) (Apple Product) for film editing or,
After Effects.

GarageBand is included with the hardware (not the os) and should do fine, but theres always,
Logic Studio Express/Pro

Dreamweaver is probably the answer to Web dev. but then theres always Coda

Flash for Flash... duh lol

and again garageband for podcasts.

word processing:
iWork, or Office '08 (go with iWork), or NeoOffice (free)

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Mac Studio, M1 Max, 32 GB RAM, 2 TB SSD
Go for the 2.8. If you are going to do video, you will want all the "umphhh" you can get.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs