Microsoft messenger sign in

Status
Not open for further replies.
Reaction score
hi, im a newbie to all this. ive got a imac 20", and i use Microsoft messenger on it. but a while ago it just stopped signing me in, or any1 else that tried to on this mac. i searched through the site and i cant seem to find a answer on how to solve it? ive noticed that many other people have the same problem, but im not sure how to fix it? not great on a mac btw :( cheers

OP
J
Reaction score
yea it comes up and says 'Sign in to Microsoft messenger failed because the service is not available or you may not be connected to the internet'? haven't got a clue what to do, but clearly i am connected to the internet. dont know if this helps, but i can sign in on a normal pc, so its not my account or anything. cheers

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Mac Studio, M1 Max, 32 GB RAM, 2 TB SSD
I just tried it and it works here. I just signed into Messenger.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Intel 2.4GHZ Core Duo Powerbook, 4GB Ram. Intel 2.6GHZ 20" IMac 2GB Ram. OS X 10.5+
Same Problem

I have exactly the same issue - i downloaded a new version of MSN today (Version 7.0.1 (080527)

I installed this onto 2 separate machines, both on the same wireless network at home, on a Intel Powerbook and Imac. Installed fine but when i launch to login it shows same error message and asks to retry or cancel, this is the same for both machines!! arghhh

I thought it may be a firewall thing, so i made sure the Firewall settings on my Powerbook were all set to open to allow all traffic in and out, i also changed my router settings to make sure the necessary IM ports were open. My router has IM ports set to open by default anyway (Netgear DG834PN)..

Does anyone know the actual port numbers, i'll google it but be handy to know for sure, i'll keep trying anyway, any help be much appreciated!

Reaction score