Getting Rid of Mac OS for Windows XP

Reaction score
I just purchased a MacBook two weeks ago (my first apple ever) and I am still learning the OS. My wife, however, wants the iMac but has no plans of learning Leopard. Can't argue with Apple's hardware design...and that's the only reason she wants the iMac. So, I bought her one yesterday.

Anyway, my plan is to install Windows XP on the iMac once I receive it. My concern is, if I use Boot Camp and successfully install and boot to Windows XP, can I format the OS X partition to NTFS and still be able to safely boot to Windows again or will I need to make other changes so my MBR is correctly configured for Windows?

OR

Can I simply boot from a Windows XP CD, reformat the entire hard drive to NTFS and install the OS or will the iMac not let me boot from a Windows XP CD?

If I am way out of my league, what is the best method I can do to be able to use the entire hard drive for Windows XP only.

Thanks!

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Black Macbook C2D 2GHz 3GB RAM 250GB HD iPhone 4 iPad 3G
To actually answer the question, yes, you can simply pop in a Windows disc and have it take over the entire drive, and so whenever you start up the Mac, it'll boot straight into Windows. No more OS X.

However, since you have yet to get the Mac, I would highly suggest you at least give OS X a try. Give it a whirl and you'll wonder why you hadn't switched earlier.

Plus, it seems kind of silly to have bought a Mac simply to end up using it for Windows only. There are plenty of PC manufacturers that have great design, Sony being one. You might be better off returning the Mac and getting a PC instead. It's also a good idea because you won't get any support from Apple if you wipe OS X off the drive, not to mention not have access to firmware and driver updates.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
iMac Duo White