Help with Mac X

K

kamaferro

I am new to Mac X.

I would like to update software and it ask me a password, where is this password ?

I was using before OE and IE.

I realized that Mail and contacts are separated entities, so how to import address book from OE ? And favorites from IE ?

Before I proceed in cleaning my system from OS 9, which very good browser you suggest ( Safari ???) and which email programm, I know is very individual but your suggestion and expertise is much appreciated.

Also I notice a very slow printing ( with Epson Stylus Photo 830), just printing a simple text page takes time, before was very fast.
Where is the print monitor and the choice of colour and B & W for printing, I cann see all this, poor me !!!!

Ciao

OP
I

iSheep

The password is the password you set when you installed Mac OS X.

I use Entourage for a little while for my email, but I've now moved to Mail because I prefer to simplicity. I use Safari, I think it's nice.

OP
C

cde_woods

I've been using Safari for browsing and Mail for email. They're simple, and sweet, and get the job done. I was a big fan of Firefox when I used Windows and Linux, but on OS X neither Firefox nor Camino seem to work as well as Safari on my machine, for some reason. I've yet to check out Entourage, I admit I'm intrigued. I'll have to Google it now.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Aluminium Macbook 2.4 Ghz 4GB RAM, SSD 24" Samsung Display, iPhone 4, iPad 2
Don't bother with entourage: it has a few features that mail doesn't have, but it uses a horrible interface and is just complicated in my opinion.

I set it up for my girlfriend to use but have ended up setting up a separate user account for her as the ical/address book/mail/iChat combination is pretty unbeatable for everyday use.

Entourage offer a built-in calendar & contacts features, but nothing as nicely integrated as apple's apps. Plus integration with iPhoto is seamless too...

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs