Virus Protection anyone?

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MBP 2.2C2D 2gb 15.4
I am pretty new to the mac world. I made the switch about a few months ago. I hear ppl say all the time that macs can't get viruses or spyware, but i find that very hard to believe. I for one, spent way too much money on my mbp to take the chance. So i was wondering if any of you have any recommendations on some pretty good virus protection software. Something comparable to the ol trusty AVG that i had running on my PC.

- thanks much MDCjr

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Black Macbook C2D 2GHz 3GB RAM 250GB HD iPhone 4 iPad 3G
I thought a virus is what you call that thing when you get sick and have to eat chicken soup to get better. What does that have to do with my Mac?

Reaction score
I am pretty new to the mac world. I made the switch about a few months ago. I hear ppl say all the time that macs can't get viruses or spyware, but i find that very hard to believe. I for one, spent way too much money on my mbp to take the chance. So i was wondering if any of you have any recommendations on some pretty good virus protection software. Something comparable to the ol trusty AVG that i had running on my PC.

- thanks much MDCjr

You don't have the biggest virus catcher of them all, Windows on your Mac so you don't need virus protection.

If you run Windows on a partition on this computer, you will need some AV protection only on that partition.

OSX is pretty 99.9% virus free. :)

TWM

Reaction score
and any anti virus you get is only going to scan for windows viruses, due to the fact that there are no known viruses for Mac OS X

bobtomay

Retired Staff
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
15" MBP '06 2.33 C2D 4GB 10.7; 13" MBA '14 1.8 i7 8GB 10.11; 21" iMac '13 2.9 i5 8GB 10.11; 6S
Believe it or not.

Reaction score