Ticking Time bomb HELP!

Reaction score
I'm very new to the mac world. I purchased a new Blackbook from the apple store in early December 2007. Now three months later I am only getting a maximum battery life of 1 and a half hours. Also, the fans are constantly running and the computer itself seems to be getting louder everyday. I was sent a new battery to see if it was the battery causing the problem and with the new battery in nothing has changed. So far I've been really happy with it, but recently I feel as if I received a ticking time bomb. I am using it very sparingly and actually a little worried to even turn it on unless I have too. HELP PLEASE!

I will be calling apple support again as soon as they open.

I Spoke with support. I need to send it back in for repair. Very happy with their support.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Quad 2.8GHz Mac Pro, Edge iPhone
Battery life will depend on what you do. If you watch a movie, it will only last an hour and a half. Same with the fans. If you're running intense apps, of course they'll run constantly.
Have you tried to calibrate the battery by draining it completely and recharged it fully?

OP
S
Reaction score
this is with only the bare bones running. I shut down everything. If I turn on the computer and let it sit for a minute the fans will kick on and stay on. This is without running anything. They get louder the longer they run too. The battery tells me it will only last and hour and a half right off the start up without opening any programs AND it goes down much more rapidly than it says it will last. For instance, it will say 1:45 remaining and 5 minutes later say 1:15 min remaining only letting it idle. I'm sending it back for repair tomorrow so hopefully they'll fix the problem. Thanks for the reply though!

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Did you put one of those hard cases on it?

OP
S
Reaction score