Mac Firewall

Reaction score
Hey, Im new to the mac scene and i have been told numerous times that getting a anti virus is not needed. My question is does my firewall come set up properly or should i configure it differently to prevent problems coming in from the internet. I download stuff and don't want any problems

Reaction score
Firewall

Hi

I am new to the forum, but think I can help. In Leopard, if you go to Apple Menu - System Preferences - Security - Firewall, and put a tick in the "Set Access for certain applications", and click on the plus below the box to add in certain applications, like Mail and Safari. If you are logged in as admin, or your admin is around, if you click on advanced, you can enable Stealth Mode, giving greater protection to your computer. If you are using 10.4 you can ignore that because this link http://docs.info.apple.com/article.html?path=Mac/10.4/en/mh1042.html, will take you to an Apple Support page, that explains it for you

We do not use an anti-virus because disguised files that can damage Windows PCs (.exe) are not used in UNIX systems (Mac OS X and Linux). If however you are planning on using Vista / XP (but considering you are new to Macs I would assume not!!) in Boot Camp, then they will need anti-virus installed. I hope this helps you.

Robert

OP
S
Reaction score
Thank you for the help, any downsides to my daily operations by only enabling mac mail, safari, firefox. and whats stealth mode?

Reaction score
Re: Firewall

Hi again,

Stealth mode blocks attempts to hack into your Mac by hiding it from hackers when they try and ignoring automated attempts from outside. The firewall can allow other apps and services to access the internet, but they are blocked until you add them. So you can still share files and printers, but you have to allow them internet access first.

OP
S
Reaction score