My Mac is crashing only while game playing - Please help? :)

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
iMAC 2006 - 2.16Ghz Intel Core 2 Duo - 1GB 667 MHz DDR2 SDRAM -
Hi everyone, i'm pretty new to all this so bear with me :)

I've got a 2006 iMac - 2.16GHz Intel Core 2 Duo with 1GB SDRAM and in the last 3 weeks when i've been playing games after a while (sometimes instantly) my mac just freezes up? Sometimes it doesn't even produce the black crash screen?

The wierd thing is that it only happens when i play games, i thought it may have been a bug from World of Warcraft but it happens with others now too. My only thought could be that somehow my Graphics card has been damaged but i'll admit i'm at a total loss.

My warranty also ran out last October so i could use any advice on what the problem may be or how to fix it. Please help guys.

- Andy

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
ibook g4, imac 2ghz c2d, mbp 2.4ghz c2d - 10.5.1
OP
A
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
I am guessing its an over heating problem
Download istat pro - http://www.islayer.com/index.php?op=item&id=7

and check on your temps. dont let it get above 75*c to 80*c without the fans. the fans should come on automatically, when i game or render video or high demanding task use icyclone to wack the fans up - http://www.alitacrew.org/icyclone/

hope this helps

Many thanks i'll give it a try. Overheating would make sense after long playing but it also crashes sometimes after a minute or less.

I'll let you know :)

Andy

M

MacHeadCase

*Moved thread to correct forum - Question on Apple Desktop Hardware and is not a forum suggestion or comment*

bobtomay

Retired Staff
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
15" MBP '06 2.33 C2D 4GB 10.7; 13" MBA '14 1.8 i7 8GB 10.11; 21" iMac '13 2.9 i5 8GB 10.11; 6S
It won't take but a minute or so for it to get too hot if the fans are not operating properly. This would be my first guess.