iPhoto Import Issue - Unreadable Files

Reaction score
I am new to Mac. Recently purchased MacBook Pro and imported all of my old photos into iPhoto. After importing, I received the following message:

"50 photos have been found in the iPhoto Library that were not imported."

It then asks me if I would like to import them. The first time this happened, I said yes, and then it listed all of the files and said they were unreadable. The next time I opened iPhoto, I got the same message. This time I said no. I then got the following message:

"The photos have been placed in the folder /Users/username/Pictures/iPhoto Library Recovered Photos."

I cannot seem to delete these unreadable files. Each time I open iPhoto I get the same message. If I continue to answer NO, I get the same message about being placed in Recovered Photos_1,2,3...etc. It keeps adding a new sequential recovered photos file.

Can anyone tell me how to delete these files out of the library so I don't get this same question each time I open iPhoto?

Thanks a bunch for your expertise.

Reaction score
I have the EXACT same issue, even the number of unreadable files is the same, 50.

very annoying to go through this every time i open iphoto.

i had some duplicate files of all my images in other folders - i did not want to do this, but i deleted all of them. still no help, i get the unreadable 50 every time.

any help with this would be much appreciated.

next step would be to backup and delete every photo on my imac, which would be a major pain to do with some 3000+ images.

thanks

update - further googling found a thread on MacRumors forums with a post by Rontheancient with a fix that worked like a charm for me.

I have the exact same problem and just found a solution:

Go to the Pictures folder in your home folder.

Right-click (or Control-Click) "iPhoto Library" and choose "Show Package Contents".