Lifespan on iMAC LCD and other questons...

J

Just-A-Boy

Okay, I purchased my first Apple product. At first, I wanted to buy Apple mini-mac but they only came with Intel Core Duo (which is only 32-bit). And Mac Pro was too powerful for my needs since I only needed a computer to send email, surf the net, and do my homework.

So I decided to buy an iMac with Intel Core 2 Duo 2.16GHz plus the 3 year Apple Support plan. I received my iMac and I just loooooove Mac OS X. And its my first time using Apple's operating system.

But Im kinda skeptical about the lifespan on the LCD screen. Since iMac is all-in-one if the screen goes out... then its impossible to use it unless I hook it to another moniter. I have not had good experiece with LCD. My Sharp Aquos LCD TV screen died out after 8 month use. Took forever for Sharp to fix it. And their supposed to be LCD leaders. According to them that is.

Any comments?

And the other questions are... can the HDD in iMac be upgraded?

Thanks

Jem

Reaction score
Just-A-Boy said:
Okay, I purchased my first Apple product. At first, I wanted to buy Apple mini-mac but they only came with Intel Core Duo (which is only 32-bit). And Mac Pro was too powerful for my needs since I only needed a computer to send email, surf the net, and do my homework.

Sorry... I am trying not to laugh :cool:, but seriously... re-read that statement. So you think that the "only 32-bit" Intel Core Duo wouldn't be up to sending email, surfing the net and doing your homework but the Mac Pro is too powerful? The performance increase from Core Duo to Core 2 Duo is hardly staggering and won't make any difference to your ability to do the tasks you list.

Just-A-Boy said:
So I decided to buy an iMac with Intel Core 2 Duo 2.16GHz plus the 3 year Apple Support plan. I received my iMac and I just loooooove Mac OS X. And its my first time using Apple's operating system.