noob question... can you mount a terminal to the desktop?

J

jamesmccain

hey guys, Im new to macs, I recently just purchased a black mac and Im loving this thing every minute. Now im pretty familiar with computers in general and in linux/unix os, however not with mac as im obiousvly asking for help/advice. now I know that dashboard is ava. but my questions for you is, are you able to have a terminal intergated to the desktop? so like you can whats going on in the background and/or be able to do thing via unix commands w/o opening it up each time? I know mac's are pretty changeable but dont know there limitations and hope that I could pick up a thing or two from ya'll mac guru's... well thanks

James

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
15" Powerbook G4 • 24" iMac • iPhone 3Gs
Navigate to:

/Applications/Utilities

and drag the application "Terminal" to your dock.

Click it and you have access to all the inner workings of Unix.

I don't know of a way to have Terminal "running on the desktop".

Reaction score
jamesmccain said:
hey guys, Im new to macs, I recently just purchased a black mac and Im loving this thing every minute. Now im pretty familiar with computers in general and in linux/unix os, however not with mac as im obiousvly asking for help/advice. now I know that dashboard is ava. but my questions for you is, are you able to have a terminal intergated to the desktop? so like you can whats going on in the background and/or be able to do thing via unix commands w/o opening it up each time? I know mac's are pretty changeable but dont know there limitations and hope that I could pick up a thing or two from ya'll mac guru's... well thanks

James

Do you mean like running in Terminal mode without the GUI? I know when I boot into Mandriva on my PC I have 2 options....console or GUI. Is that what you are after?

Reaction score
I think he wants something like an xterm window that runs as his desktop wallpaper so he can see the outputs at all times.