Will the mac mini work for me?

L

Lyrkalas

I'm a graphic designer, so I'll be using the Adobe Creative Suite/Web Studio frequently.

I've been told that the 80GB mac mini would be work for me, but I plan on adding an external hard drive and maxing out the RAM. I already have two 17" studio display monitors. We also have a PC to which I'll be network via wireless router.

Do you think this would work for me? I'd really like the G5, but the cost is a bit much and I need the machine ASAP because projects are waiting.

Thanks for your advice!

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Mac Mini 2.4 Ghz Intel
I have a Mac Mini and I love it. I have the original 1.25 so I'm maxed out at 1 Gb of RAM. The Intel's have two RAM slots so you can go 2Gb. Adding an external will help with storage, however I don't think you can add the dual monitor set-up. There is only one monitor output connection and you can't add to it. Beyond that, it's a great machine.

Mark

Reaction score
If you buy a new mini, it will have an Intel chip. If Adobe hasn't updated Creative Suite/Web Studio with a Universal binary, it will run via Rosetta (emulation software built in to OS X). It will be invisible to you, but it will run slower than a version written for the Intel CPU.

I'm new to the Mac scene, but apparently Adobe has been rather slow with releasing universal binaries.

Reaction score
I think I'm getting lukcy, I've been wanting a mac for a while, My buddy bought a mac mini intel 1.5ghz version a few months ago and then 3 weeks later bought a macbook. He's not using his mac mini so he offered it to me for $300.00. I just have to check my finances and then give him a yes. Looks like I might finally be getting my Mac. Do you guys think it'll be fine to run the game World of Warcraft?

Reaction score
As you said, you'll max out the ram so these apps should run fairly well even under rosetta.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
iMac 17" Intel Core Duo 1.83GHz 512 MB Ram 128 vRAM 60GB HD