New Macbook, New to OSX, New to Apple

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Macbook, Black, 2.0 C2D, 2G RAM, 120G HD
Just got my "new to me" Blackbook guys. I don't know about the rest of you refurb guys, but I looked over this thing with a fine tooth comb and if they had put it in a new box I would never know the difference. The thing looks great.

Anyway, I just got it today after ordering on June 1!!!!! FYI FedEx Ground Blows. Anyway, Im still in the process of setting up. Im actually reading the manual.:( Kinda sucks I cant just jump right in but I am new to OSX and have no idea how to really do anything. (I am a computer engineer so im not completely lost)

But i just wanted to say hi, Cant wait to read all the great info on the forums and Im glad I switched over to apple. I made a ton in apple stock last summer (bought at 50 sold at macworld 07) so I figured Id give back to the company.

The specs on the Blackbook;

Core 2 2 GHz
1MB RAM
120 GB HD
6x Superdrive

Not bad for 1049 I must say.

Any how must have advise for a newbie???

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Mac Mini, 2.0Ghz Intel Core 2 Duo, 1GB Ram
I also made the switch a few weeks ago to my first mac (20" iMac C2D).

Advice;

1) Make sure that you get all the updates etc!
2) There's a mac alternative to windows for almost everything...just ask!
3) drop Safari as your browser and run Camino (based on firefox code i believe?)
4) Customize ur mac to be "your own" lol
5) Just slowly work your way around OS X and try things ( like new tabs on browsers is the apple key & t) and stuff like that whereas windows was control and t

Not really advice tbh lol....but thats all i can really say except

Enjoy your mac because OS X Rules and i'm never going back to windows!

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacBook 2GHz/2GB/CD
If you get bored reading the manual, just browse the forum--you'll learn a lot more. Good luck :)

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacBook, Black, 2.0GHz C2D, 2GB RAMs, 160GB HD