Files missing in Finder from External HD yet still physically there?/

Reaction score
Hi All

I am in desperate need of help, and hope someone can help me find an answer.

I was backing up some things on my external HD (I was using my iMac, which I run osx 10.7.4 transferring to a Seagate FreeAgent Go Flex Drive - in case this helps/matters) and in the middle of the files transferring (I'm a photographer, so it was a huge batch of files), finder disappears, and returns and my transfer bars are gone. To no surprise, my files didn't transfer (I was also transferring some things from my external HD to my computer's HD). Next thing I noticed, half of the folders on my external HD in alphabetical order from the letter "k" onwards are missing. I later try to move a folder I already transferred earlier to it that starts with a letter "n" (so is missing at least visibly) and finder asks me if I want to replace the folder. Also, I noticed the file size of my external HD never changed, despite half the folders now being missing to the naked eye.

All this leads me to believe that my "missing" folders/files are there somewhere, I just can't see them. Any clue on how I can access them? I really need them as they are client files that some I have yet to work on. Help! Much appreciation in advance for any insight..

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2019 iMac 27"; 2020 M1 MacBook Air; macOS up-to-date... always.
These Seagate GoFlex drives are awful. I have one and had some really bizarre file errors and files go "missing" also. Most likely you need to rebuild the volume. DiskWarrior is probably the best at this. TechTool Pro has a similar tool, and otherwise is a great utility. Neither are cheap though.

EDIT: you can also use TTP to do a full surface scan to be sure the drive isn't failing. One of the very weird things I had with my GoFlex drive is that it failed the surface scan, but after rebuilding the volume structure, it passed. Ever since, it hasn't given me any problems.