Usefull Mac Apps

Reaction score
Hi, im a newbie here as well as in the world of Mac. I'll be getting my 1st Macbook Pro 15.4" Unibody next week and im currently doing as much research as i can regarding the MBP as well as how to fully utilize OS X Leopard.

So far i have found out that OS X is as much tweakable as WINDOWS and you can basicly customize your Mac to be much easier to use and at the same time boost up its performance using many different applications.

I've found many sites that showcases many applications for OS X, yet its difficult to do a full research on all those applications. In my experience of searching for good apps (during my pc-windows life),its difficult to rely on just ratings of those apps until i actually install it and try it out. Different users may have different taste and thus trying out apps 1 by 1 until you find the perfect 1 is a long painful task :Shouting: .

So i would like to ask for help, what are the apps that are in your MAC.
Apps that have helped you in different ways while using your MAC. Maybe a list of what you have would do good for me. At least, i can further my research based on those apps that you have posted.

Do state whether the apps you are using are free.shareware or $$$$.

I hope you guys could help me out as I am a newbie Mac User and would like to learn as much as i can on how to fully utilize it.:Smirk:

Reaction score
VLC Player - Download this to play any file format on your Mac. I haven't come across a format in which it cannot handle so far. Free.

Flip4mac - This is a plug-in to help you play .wmv files on your Mac. Free.

AppFresh - This keeps all the third-party applications in my Mac up to date. Free.

Handbreak - This helps you to rip DVDs into your Mac, or to convert it to iPod compatible formats. Free.

GetTube - I use this application to rip audio off YouTube videos. Free.