Outdoor Webcam

Reaction score
Hiya, Noob here.

I've been using Apple stuff for ever so not technically a switcher but i'm far, far, FAR from being technically minded. In saying that, i now want to tackle a new project of setting up a wireless outdoor webcam to stream to the internet. (apologies if i post this in the wrong part of the forum! Noob blooper!)

Where do i start!?! I've looked on the net but theres' not much info specifically for mac's. Ive also had a search on here and can't find any threads. Happy for someone to point me in the right direction if they already exist.

I will be hooking it up to a G5 Powermac but my question is:
What would be the best webcam? Nothing ridiculously fancy. Its to film chickens! It will be in a sheltered position but still outside. Must be wireless.

Thanks a bunch

chscag

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2017 27" iMac, 10.5" iPad Pro, iPhone 8, iPhone 11, iPhone 12 Mini, Numerous iPods, Monterey
Moved your post here as it really does not belong in "Switcher".

As for an outdoor wireless Web Cam, do some Googling. But be careful in that anything you buy is compatible with OS X. And since your machine is rather old and can't support Snow Leopard or Lion, you may have a difficult time finding something.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Currently 13" Late 2010 MBA, 4GB/128GB; Early 2011 13" MBP, dual core i7 2.7ghz, 4gb ram, 500gb hd
This might be worth checking out.

OP
P
Reaction score