Serious IMAP problems with Lion Mail.app

Reaction score
I've been wrangling with this Since early September 2011. Here's the nutshell:

Lion Mail.app does not give an accurate count of email compared to the webmail server for the corresponding IMAP email account.

Tiger Mail and Snow Leopard Mail do, as do Thunderbird 8 and 9

I have done exhaustive troubleshooting and experimentation to solve this, including nuke and paving my Lion install, re-configuring the email accounts probably a dozen times or more, and even switching hosts!*

Apple says there's nothing more they can do, and that it's not their software, but that the host is at fault. I've just emailed them that the problem persists even with a new host, so I must give them the chance to respond to that revelation.

Point is: overwhelming evidence that Lion's Mail has serious issues with IMAP. I haven't done POP mail under Lion, so I can't speak to that.

Wanted to know if others have had my problem, and if so, what is the fix?

Overall Lion is pretty good. I can use Thunderbird until Apple fixes Mail, but I do want Mail to work properly.

Thanks for reading, thanks for any ideas!

Mac Cat

*I didn't do this lightly..I'd been trying to work with my former host, but it felt like they just didn't want to investigate and getting them to talk about this issue was like pulling teeth, so I unburdened them from my mail issues and....my money.

C

chas_m

Have you found anything like this in Apple Support Forums? Because I have to tell you it's pretty rare for me to hear "a new one" I've never heard before, but you've managed it.

OP
M
Reaction score
I've posted on this on the Apple discussions board, but got no response.

I will concede that my story is a strange tale. Let me add that I've been a mac user for 20 years, going all the way back to System 7. I am a highly skilled, experienced Mac user, and I have seen a lot of weird issues in my day, the vast majority of which were solved very satisfactorily.