Development Project Roadblocks

Reaction score
This is a rather long post but you may enjoy reading it. I'm not asking for any help but comments are welcome if you are so inclined.

I've been developing software with Delphi since V1.0 in 1994. When I was considering buying my MBP I thought I'd probably have to leave Delphi behind. But then I discovered Lazarus, an open-source, cross-platform Object Pascal IDE. Like many other old-time Delphi guys, I was excited about this possibility. Especially since I've got an app I've been working on for 2 years and need to deploy. I wasn't expecting the changeover to be perfectly smooth but....:Shouting:

I've documented the roadblocks here, just for grins. It involves two computers and three operating systems with Delphi on one, Lazarus on all three. Every roadblock felt like a steel-reinforced concrete wall 40 meters wide, 10 meters deep, and 10 meters high, partly because the solution of each involved joining forums, asking for help and generally getting a bunch of bad advice with an occasional gem tossed in.

It plays out like a Dilbert cartoon, except I've got no pointy-haired boss looking over my shoulder. I hope no one else has this kind of grief.

At this moment it looks like the Mac platform will be the solution. I guess I always hoped that would be the case since it's all new and bright and shiny, and generally really nice to work with. I may even go out and buy an Apple mouse and a large monitor to compliment my 13" MBP screen.

I hesitate to say I'm now moving forward again because every time I do, I get bit in the rear and have to recant my proclamation. But there is always hope. I'm nothing if not persistent.

Delphi to Lazarus Headaches

Nov '07 to Aug '09
Develop app in Delphi/XP on a Dell D610 laptop

Aug '09