Mac Mini antivirus/antispyware program

Reaction score
Hello,

I would like to get software to protect and/or rid my mac of virus, spyware, unwanted files. I would like people's opinions on the best of free software and one that needs to be purchased.

Specs of computer: 1.83 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo OS X 10.5.8

Thank you

dtravis7

Retired Staff
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacMini M-1 MacOS Monterey, iMac 2010 27"Quad I7 , MBPLate2011, iPad Pro10.5", iPhoneSE
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Mac Mini (Late 2014) 2.6GHz Intel Core i5 Memory: 8GB 1600MHz DDR3
These virus threads keep popping up all the time. Do you think the site has... nah! ;)

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
15"MBP 2.66, 750GB 7200RPM HD, 8GB RAM; iPhone4S 64GB; 32GB iPad, White, AT&T.
And PLEASE READ IT FROM PAGE ONE. Very important since the information from the originating post to the last page is relevant.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
iMac 27: i7,1TB HDD,8 gig Ram
I am also fairly new to Mac but also continue to use PC's.
I presently have ESET Smart Security on my PC's for obvious reasons and have never had an issue but having all my computers going through a router also helps.
ESET now has a BETA version for Mac OSX which has antivirus and antispyware protection.I have not noticed any slowdown on my computer and is presently free to try.

C

chas_m

ESET now has a BETA version for Mac OSX which has antivirus and antispyware protection.I have not noticed any slowdown on my computer and is presently free to try.

BUT IS POINTLESS, since there are no viruses or spyware issues with Macs.

What is the point of trying out an antivirus program when we can have NO WAY of telling if it would be effective? :)

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacBook Pro 17" i7
its like having a gun to defend yourself ... when you live on a desert island

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
iMac 27: i7,1TB HDD,8 gig Ram