powerbook g4 or ibook g4?

D

daughter_anna

help!

i was originally planning to get the 15inch powerbook g4 for this fall as an incoming college freshman but was told by a friend that powerbooks tend to "break down" easily. he also had to exchange it twice from the month he purchased it which was just last april. his advice to me was to get the ibook g4- "cheaper and more reliable" he says.

i just wanted to know if this was true about the powerbook g4.. and if the ibook g4 would be a smarter choice for me considering that the notebook i do choose to purchase will be my first mac ever.

i know that getting used to mac osx is going to be a lot more complicated considering i've worked on a windows my whole life. but i'm determined to learn how to operate a mac- my course being in a range of computer science/digital art/web-design.

i'm open to any suggestions. i'm a mac newbie and i need a lot of advice from those of you who are all experts:p thanks so much in advance!

OP
N

nicholas

I've known just as many people tell me how their ibooks broke down as I've heard people say their powerbooks busted. As long as you buy a decent laptop case for it and don't bring it to frat parties, you'll be straight. Your budget is probably going to be your biggest determining factor in which computer to buy, although judging from what you're leaning towards in your major, the faster the better. i'm always a big proponent of getting the best you can afford, but ONLY what you can afford. Oh, and since it's your first time using a mac, if you want to learn swiftly and soundly, I'd say get the powerbook so you can concentrate on running multiple applications instead of wondering if the spinning beachball (mac's equivalent of windows' sand timer) is ever going to end.

OP
D

daughter_anna

nicholas said: