Develop software for Macintel or PowerPC?

S

sekelsenmat

Hello,

I recently posted a question about mac hardware support. Thanks for the answers. Now I would like to know more about the division between intel and power pc on the mac world.

Specifically, I am a free software developer. I am one of the developers the Virtual Magnifying Glass ( http://magnifier.sourceforge.net/ ), created with the Free Pascal Compiler, and I would like to port it to Mac OS X.

I don´t have money to buy 2 computers, so which ever I buy (x86 or powerpc) will receive much more attention and will be a product of much more quality. As Mac users, which one do you consider more relevant to have better support?

More clearly, should I buy a intel Mac or a Power PC Mac to do software development?

Also, Macs are quite hard to find here in Brazil, so I don´t have access to other Macs to test, and more importantly debug. In this case, whichever platform I buy will have a much more tested release, and receive more attention.

I can imagine power pc probably has much more users right now, but how long would it take for this to reverse we see more intel users?

thanks,

Felipe

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
3.4 Ghz i7 MacBook Pro (2015), iPad Pro (2014), iPhone Xs Max. Apple TV 4K
The number of Intel users will only continue to grow as the PPC user base dwindles. That being said, anything you develop should conform to Apples Universal Binary standard to serve both chip-sets. I really don't know if it is possible to develop for both with only one chip-set.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2011 MBP, i7, 16GB RAM, MBP 2.16Ghz Core Duo, 2GB ram, Dual 867Mhz MDD, 1.75GB ram, ATI 9800 Pro vid
If you stick to using the system APIs and don't write byte order code for a particular processor, I think you should be fine with using either system for development. That should be easy. Also you would want to use the XCode tools or perhaps some other modern tool such as Realbasic.