Problem with new 10.6 mac / dual boot advice

Reaction score
Hi guys - Im fairly new to the Mac world, so forgive me if I'm posting in the wrong place or if I'm asking something silly. I'm hoping to get some advice on my new mac setup.

I work for a small design company where we use Indesign/Quark etc for creating artwork & PDFs.

Until now Ive been working on the 10.5 operating system, which worked fine with our software - some of it being quite old - I do upgrade where possible but my boss is getting sick of me asking for thousands of pounds...

My machine died the other day and I convinced him to buy me a spanking new quad-core intel running 10.6.8 - I was running 10.5 on a power-pc.

My problem is some of my older software wont run on 10.6 - so ive upgraded what i can within a budget. Unfortunately we have tons of old customer files which need to run the older version of quark etc.

My brainwave was to have 10.6 on the main hard drive and 10.5 on a second drive in a dual boot system so I can jump between each when I need to.

I tried booting my 10.5 dvd on the 10.6 machine but it doesnt work. It doesnt boot past the apple logo.

Is there a reason for this or can anyone suggest a sensible solution for my problem ? I just want to run both operating systems from one mac if possible (on separate drives)

Any help or advice would be gratefully received. Thanks for reading guys.

C

chas_m

No Mac can boot to a version of software OLDER than the one it shipped with. Your brainwave is a no-go.

I'd pick up a cheap used PowerPC that matches the features of the old machine, install all your old stuff on it and use it as a transfer station.

Tell your boss that this problem could have been easily avoided if he had made the investment of a couple of hundred pounds each year for carefully-selected software upgrades instead of tying his business to outdated software and hardware. Try to put more diplomatically than I just did. :)

OP
M
Reaction score