I have a mind boggling iPhone 3g sync problem

Reaction score
I am very computer savvy. I am not a programmer but I can troubleshoot the best of PC problems. This problem however has me pulling my hair out! Please Help.
I have performed multiple tests trying to determine what the problem maybe. None of these tests has sparked and idea as to a solution for my problem.
Here is my problem: Approx 2 Weeks ago. I was in syncing heaven... everything worked perfectly. Then one day, my I phone would not sync with I Tunes. Here are the symptoms of my sync issues that I find weird. In I Tunes, I do not have "Automatically Sync when this phone is connected" checked as an option. So when I hook up the USB cable from my comp to my phone, nothing happens. I then proceed to press sync and the phone operates as normal as if it were going to sync. The message that appears in ITunes at first is "Syncing your I Phone". It then proceeds to backup my phone as usual. When the backup is finished, it then begins what looks like the syncing of my media, and then abruptly stops. No media will transfer from my computer (I Tunes) into my Iphone3G. That's messed up but here is the jacked up part. I thought that obviously something had to be wrong with my phone or perhaps I tunes... so I took the following steps in figuring out what my problem was.

1. Restarted my phone... Turned off and then on and tried again - Failed
2. Hard Reset my phone ... Failed
3. Reinstalled I-Tunes 8.02.20 ... Failed
4. Restored my phone from both I Tunes backup and standalone ... Failed
5. Tried to revert to an older I-Tunes version - failed
6. Tested my USB port using memory stick to see if files could be transferred - success ***(FOR THE MEMORY STICK) not syncing I Phone
7. Check to see if system drivers had a problem on my PC (No Problem)
8. Updated the Apple Mobile Driver (Didn't Work)
9. Went into my Window Services application to see if IPod/IPhone services was started and enabled or automatic (It Was)