Windows partition missing at boot up screen

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacBook Pro 2011
Hi, the thread subject pretty much says it. Restarting my Mac does not show the Bootcamp partition like it normally does. It worked fine about a week ago.

I'm not too technically savvy so I stay away from meddling with the partitions. The only thing I remember doing in the last week was repairing my Mac partition disk by restarting using cmd+r, because I was advised to repair the disk by Onyx. But this would not have anything to do with the Windows partition would it?

I'm using a 2011 Mac running Mavericks and Windows 7

Every article I found related to a "missing Windows partition" was when people tried shrinking or re-adjusting the partition size, I've never done this.

If there's no other choice, I don't mind losing the data on my Windows partition if this can prevent having to re-create and reinstall a Windows partition (though I get the feeling losing data in the Windows partition goes hand in hand with pretty much losing the whole partition itself :l )

Thanks

chscag

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2017 27" iMac, 10.5" iPad Pro, iPhone 8, iPhone 11, iPhone 12 Mini, Numerous iPods, Monterey
Let's find out first if the partition is missing (removed) or just not showing up for some reason. Boot to your recovery partition by using command + r and run Disk Utility. Is the partition visible to Disk Utility?

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Silver M1 iMac 512/16/8/8 macOS 11.6
And the Bootcamp partition only shows if you hold down the Option keys to show all available drives/partitions. Booting in the usual manner does not show this.

OP
K
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacBook Pro 2011
Let's find out first if the partition is missing (removed) or just not showing up for some reason. Boot to your recovery partition by using command + r and run Disk Utility. Is the partition visible to Disk Utility?