Tiger to Leopard or Snow Leopard & Some Q's?

Reaction score
Hi guys,

After hours of research I think I have an idea what I need, but I was hoping for some opinions from more seasoned Mac users :)

This is what I'm currently running:

MacBook
Mac OS X 10.4.11
2 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo
2 GB 667 MHz DDR2 SDRAM

I'm running Tiger, and I want to upgrade. I also only have 75 GB of RAM, which is killing me, so I'm going to increase it to 500 GB. I'd also like to swap out my CD Drive for a DVD Drive. The computer's 2.5 yrs old.

I've read that Leopard is enough of an upgrade, less costly and easier to transition to from Tiger. Snow Leopard may be in my future, but I'm not sure I need it now.
I'm a beginning graphic designer, so I have a ton of files and programs, I run the Adobe Suite and have a lot of add-ons and plug-ins.

My questions are:

Which OS do you think would suit my needs?
Is it best to make all of these changes at once?
Would Time Machine be a viable option for backing up everything before I upgrade the OS? I've got an external drive that I use to backup my files, but what about my add-ons, downloaded software, etc?
Is it going to cost more to do all of this than to buy a new computer? Lol.

Thanks!
Jen

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
17 inch 2 GHz C2D imac (5,1) with 3GB DDR2 RAM, X1600 (128MB memory) GPU - OSX 10.6.3
Which OS do you think would suit my needs?
Just go straight to Snow Leopard. I think that's the best way. As it's optimised for intel Macs. Also trying to buy a Leopard (10.5) disc is really hard/expensive these days. I know Apple want you to buy the I SL+iwork+ilife pack or the 10.5 disc to go from 10.4->10.6. But you can go from 10.4-> 10.6 just with the Snow Leopard disc. It works and I'd recommend that.

Snow Leopard for the most part is just a really optimised (for intel) Leopard. I see no reason for you not to skip 10.5 and go right to 10.6

Is it best to make all of these changes at once?