Want to get a Mac...help me decide.

A

adiliegro

Hi guys...

First post here. Im a photographer (digital) and am currently using a PC for my editing. I do a LOT of work in PSCS and C1 as well as Dreamweaver and Flash and my PC just isnt cutting it. It crashes a lot and Im losing work because of it. I used the Mac in college (graphic arts major) and that puppy never crashed and never bogged down. I guess Im just tired of the crap from the PC.

What is the least Mac I would need to get to do wedding/portrait editing, business, internet, etc? Can someone give me some advice on which one I should look to get? What paripheals, etc? Keep in mind, I have always been a PC guy. I cant afford the dual G5, so please tell me what I can do on a budget.

OP
M

MacMan3.0

Welcome to the Mac Community!!!,

well seeing as that my parents baught my computer, i would say that the people here can help you with pricings a litle better than i, but a nice ol trip to ur local mac distributer(if worse comes t worse, londondrugs) would do u good. they could give u a brief idea of what u need and definatly what they have to offer. my experiences is that most (not all) indepentent mac stores do a pretty good job in being fair and reasonable about prices and sales.

another good idea is to check the apple online store to see whats availiable that has to do with your occupation. and of course you have us(mac fourm community). if u run into one of those nasty salesmen and u think they may be over charging, general mac question, or just want to talk, just post and i'm sure u'll be able to get lots of responsises. now i just totally assumed that you have done none of this, then again i have been known to be wrong on serveral occations. But anyway, Welcome again to the macintosh community and family and i hope u enjoy ur user friendly, (relitivly) crash free, stay :)

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
G4 1Ghz OS X 10.4.7