Start > Run

I

iSheep

Right, I'm really, really, really, really sorry, but I'm using Windows. I am going to make the Switch in September, but I'm just pondering - does Mac OS X have anything like Run in Windows?

Chances are it doesn't because it doesn't need one and my computer habbits will change once I've swtiched, but I'm curious.

:)

Reaction score
I'm slowly sinking in the posts of Mac-forums
Your Mac's Specs
PowerBook 12" Combo Drive/867 MHz/256 MB RAM/40 GB hard drive/Mac OS X 10.3.5/AirPort Extreme it sux
Not that I know of... the Terminal may be able to do things like that, but I'm no UNIX expert.

OP
I

iSheep

I've been hunting around on Google, and it seems like there just isn't any purpose for it - what with having the Dock and all.

Thanks for the reply Absolute Zero.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
1.8GHz G5 512mb Ram
I can't think of anything that resembles Windows' "Run". I find that in Windows to be pretty useless, but I don't use windows, so who knows :)

OP
I

iSheep

Ahhh, it's great. Need a cacluator? Win+R calc - you've got one. Perhaps Word? Win+R word - done, there's word. Perhaps you want Firefox? Win+R firefox - there you go. Need some tunes? I've got mine to go Win+R music - and up pops iTunes! :)

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
1.8GHz G5 512mb Ram
iSheep said:
Ahhh, it's great. Need a cacluator? Win+R calc - you've got one. Perhaps Word? Win+R word - done, there's word. Perhaps you want Firefox? Win+R firefox - there you go. Need some tunes? I've got mine to go Win+R music - and up pops iTunes! :)

I assume "win" means the little button on a keyboard that has the "window" logo on it, then press "R" to open "Run" then you type Music and hit enter and that pops up?

I would just assume use the Dock, plus I think you can asign shortcuts to apps.

OP
I

iSheep

Yeah, it seems like that. Mac and Windows habbits are very different, I'm sure I'll adapt.

OP
P

PowerbookG417