What's with Time Machine?

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Macbook, 2.2 GHz, 4GB RAM
Hi all,

I've been backing up files for lots of years on PCs, and I'll have to admit I'm new to my Mac and my Macbook, but I have a problem with Leopard's Time Machine. I started my Time Machine app last night to back up all my files to a clean external drive partition (about 80GB) that it erased and prepped, yet after it ran all night - about 10 hours - it couldn't finish backing up 51GB of files... What's with that? I computed the 51GB form Disk Utility's data on my hard drive contents.

Then I turned around later today and used the other half (also about 80GB) of that same external hard drive with SuperDuper and it finished a complete backup in just a couple of hours.

Some background: I just put a new hard drive in my Macbook. It's a 320GB WD Scorpion, 5400RPM. I wiped my external hard drive of 160GB, put 2 partitions on it and started the Time Machine to occupy one 80GB partition on it and then to use SuperDuper to back up to the second partition. I figured that Time Machine would copy 51GB to the 80GB partition over night and then I would add the SuperDuper backup later. Well, Time Machine wasn't finished by this morning, so I canceled the back up... then later today used Super Duper and it did the job.

Something I'm missing here? Thanks for any advice...

Noel

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Silver M1 iMac 512/16/8/8 macOS 11.6
SuperDuper is the go for me and Noels if you become a registered user you have access to Smart Back Up which does it all in a fraction of the time reading files and only copying changes.

Reaction score
Hmm, when I just set up Time Machine it didn't take that long at all. I had about 60GB of info and it seemed to copy as fast as normal to my firewire drive.