Graphic Tablets - Useful or Headache?

S

SPOW05

Hey all. I've heard mixed reviews on multiple graphic tablets. I'm a graphic designer, and I do a lot of cartooning. Are graphic tablets useful to those of you who are in similar trades? What about bluetooth models? Any information/advice would be helpful. Thanks!

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Powerbook 17" 1.5GHz, 2GB, 160GB Momentus; iMac 24" 3.06GHz, 2GB; iPhone 2.5G 8GB; iPod 5G 60GB
I use a Wacom USB tablet of about A5 size, not sure what but it's a few years old. I'm not a professional designer but I do a fair bit of moderately serious photo manipulation in Photoshop. I find the tablet's excellent. For serious work it beats the heck out of a mouse.

Why? (a) accuracy and control; (b) user interface, such as touch-sensitivity which can be used to control colour, tool size, etc.

If your alternative is a mouse, then I can't see how you can do without a tablet. If you have other options - such as a touch screen - then YMMV.

OP
S

SPOW05

Thanks for the advice. I am seriously considering purchasing one. They make a lot of sense, they are just so expensive. If they truly help with accuracy, I feel it would be a great purchase!

OP
S

sandals1621

I've had a wacom tablet for awhile, it's alright, But I actually use a touchscreen for serious work.
Think they're too expensive??? click HERE
They're add-ons so you can use your existing monitor... they work really well

OP
S

SPOW05

The site looks pretty bootleg... but I'll look into them as well. Thanks!

OP
S

sandals1621

SPOW05 said:
The site looks pretty bootleg... but I'll look into them as well. Thanks!

hahaha I thought the same when I first saw it, they are in a small little complex as well. But the products are made well and have stood up well for me.

OP
S

SPOW05

Rule of thumb, never judge a book by it's cover.. or website. This is an interesting alternative, so thanks again!

OP
F

ForeverG5