4G iPad/iPhone

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
1.8 GHz i7 MBA 11" OSX 10.8.2
Just got my Verizon 4G LTE mifi. So yeah I'm getting 4G speeds on my Verizon iPhone and Wifi iPad. (iPhone registered 3.5M up and down, the iPad was 5.3 up 3.1 down)
IMG_0106.JPG

Picked up a battery from here
Hotspot Batteries : 3Gstore.com, 3G/4G Routers, Antennas, Amplifiers, WiFi, Verizon & Sprint Data Cards
The last battery I got for my 3G Mifi lasted 10 hours. Reports say that this 5000 mah behemoth lasts that long too. It's nice having a wireless access point that lasts as long as the iPad. (I need to do some real world testing, but I have no reason to doubt the 10 hour battery life claims)

Nice thing is they deployed 4G LTE in Colorado Springs and Denver. My house is also nicely covered - full bars of 4G connection.

OP
IvanLasston
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Verizon 4510L detailed review

I have been using the Verizon Mifi 2200 (3g) for 2 years and had been pleased with it. My contract was up in August so I was looking to upgrade to a 4G hotspot. The 2200 was a decent hotspot, and Verizon 3G was around 400kbps to 1.2Mbps depending on signal, location, people around, etc. It was acceptable for most web access but downloading files and streaming media was not optimal.

The 4510L fixes just about every gripe I had with the 2200 functionally. The 2200 would not power off when plugged in - the 4510L does. The indicator screen is a nice addition. The 2200 you had to go to the web page configuration to see battery, signal strength, and number of devices connected. All of those are now shown on a screen on the top of the device. The LED also tells you if you are on 3G (turns purple) 4G (turns green) and if data is being used. That way you don't have to go to a device and go to a web page just to see how the battery is doing.