My Backup Plan - comments?

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
20" Alm 2.4Ghz iMac 750Gb HD 4Gb Ram
I'm a noob Mac user with a 20" iMac 750Gb HD running Leopard. I have ordered an external HDD (750 Gb) from OWC and want to use it as a backup drive.

Afer a bunch of Google searches, here is the plan I have settled on (wishing I could give credit to the sources of the ideas but I forget):

I plan to use Time Machine for regular backups, but am aware that doing a full system restore might be better using Super Duper (when it becomes available for Leopard).

Create partitions on the external HDD:

1) 10Gb for an image of the Leopard install DVD (in case I lose the DVD or can't boot from the DVD drive)

2) 300Gb partiton for Super Duper for System Restore (when it becomes available for Leopard)

2) 3??Gb (whatever is left over) partition for Time Machine to do its voodoo

Am I missing anything here?

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
iMac Core Duo 20", iBook G4, iPhone 8GB :)
1. Time Machine does not lock you out of the partition. It just creates a Backups.indb folder and works from there.

So, you don't need to create so many partitions cause you will end up losing a lot of space. And transferring files among partitions also takes time. So you just make 1 partition. That's it. 1 partition.

- Plug the drive and enable Time Machine on it. After the backup, you drop in your Leopard DMG (though you should make it a habit to keep these kinds of discs in the safe)
- Then whenever you need to make a super duper backup, just target your external drive and make that backup in a new folder.
- You can even use that drive to store your movies and other heavy files.

bobtomay

Retired Staff
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
15" MBP '06 2.33 C2D 4GB 10.7; 13" MBA '14 1.8 i7 8GB 10.11; 21" iMac '13 2.9 i5 8GB 10.11; 6S
Except SuperDuper will erase the entire partition when creating a bootable backup. Having the bootable backup available is one of the big pluses for me.