Mac Newbie

Reaction score
Hi all,

I'm new to the world of Mac having decided it's time to try something new and I would really appreciate your advice.

I am looking to purchase a laptop. Up to now I've been a PC user who has often relied on cheap second hand knock off laptops to get me by for a few years until they give up the ghost. My current laptop has about had it and as it's the start of a new year I think it's time to treat myself to something new.

I have done some research into Macs but it can get a little confusing.

I would like my laptop for general office tasks and web browsing which I accept can be carried out on any old machine. However, I am a semi pro musician with some interest in basic production and basic graphic design. On top of that I have an extensive music collection so would like something that can handle that side of things. I have an interest in casual gaming as well.

From my research, the Macbook Pro seems to be the way to go, and I feel 13" is quite enough. However there is a lot out there with different processors and the like which easily fries my mind and often makes me want to choose the best/most expensive just because I think I should!

I have around £600 to spend at the moment and can boost that a couple of hundred £ with some time. I am more than happy to buy second hand/refurbished and use ebay. I feel ebay may be the way to go.

Any input would be greatly appreciated – some pointers as to which model, software/OS and where to buy.

Thanks kindly in advance.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacBook Pro 2011 2.4GHZ 4GB Ram 500GB HD