moving from a mini to an imac g5

Reaction score
I ordered my imac today. What's the best way to make the move? the mini was my first mac, so i'm kind of new to it, but can i just drag and drop from a cloned copy of my mini? will that work for apps? what about mail?

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
iMac G5
iPod.

For me I all really wanted to save was my Movies, Music, and a few documents. Just enable Disk Use, drag files on to Mr. Pod there and you're good.

I hear .Mac's Back-Up thing is good too.

Anywho, iPod is the wasiest way in my opinion.

When you hook it up to the G5, just drag and drop the files into the correct files. I'll assume you know how to load songs onto iTunes.

If you need any other help with that, I've moved stuff alot back and forth between my computers. Just hit me with an IM on my .Mac account.

OP
briang
Reaction score
that probably won't get the mail though. i'd like this to be as seamless as possible.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
PowerMac G5 Dual 2GHz (June 2004), 2.5GB, Airport, black 5G iPod 30GB, white MacBook 2.0 2GB
When you first start your new iMac, the Migration Assistant (starts either before or after you enter the registration info, can't remember exactly) will help you to transfer your data (everything that is in your Home-folder, which includes mails, addressbooks, bookmarks, settings, etc.) from the mini to the iMac.
All you will need is a Firewire cable and follow the instructions on the screen.

Very easy, as usual with Macs... :cool:

Any apps that did not come with your Mac mini need to be reinstalled though.

OP
briang
Reaction score
Avalon said:
Any apps that did not come with your Mac mini need to be reinstalled though.

i can just drag and drop with that though, right?

btw, thanks.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
PowerMac G5 Dual 2GHz (June 2004), 2.5GB, Airport, black 5G iPod 30GB, white MacBook 2.0 2GB
briang said:
i can just drag and drop with that though, right?

btw, thanks.