Mac specs for FCP ?

Reaction score
Hello :)

I'm in the prosess of switching from PC to Mac, and I'm doing this for ONE reason only, Final Cut Pro!

My main focus will be editing FULL HD(1920x1080) - footage from my T2i DSLR, and making shortfilms for practice purposes.

I've never owned a mac so i dont know what specifications are nessesary to run FCP, and I'm not thinking of minimal requirements here. What's the ideal requirements for having a smooth working experience?(prossesor?, ram?, Graphics card, Imac or Mac Pro etc.)

And I'm a student, i have money to buy a brand new imac, but i cant afford to max the specs on a mac pro if you see where im going, so something in between.

So if anyone out there has a good setup that they are pleased with or a recommendation please let me know :)

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2018 15" MBP, 2019 11" iPad Pro, iPhone 11 Pro
Whatever you buy, you'll save some money by upgrading the hard drives and RAM on your own. OWC and NewEgg are great online retailers for those items.
I use FCE on my MBP, but it's mostly for personal/hobby use. Not professional and not Full HD video. So you definitely want something like a quad core i7 iMac or a Mac Pro. I have a feeling you can do all that with the iMac, but someone with more experience will be able to tell you for sure.

IWT

Reaction score
Born Scotland. Worked all over UK. Live in Wales
Your Mac's Specs
M2 Max Studio Extra, 32GB memory, 4TB, Sonoma 14.4 Apple 5K Retina Studio Monitor
Whether this helps or not is up to you, KRZY; but I do HD video and HD 2D & 3D digital image editing via a 64 bit OsiriX workstation on my iMac, 27 inch, core i7, with 16 GB RAM.

It handles this beautifully even when running other things in the background.

If my situation seems in any way akin to yours go for the i7 iMac with as much RAM as you can afford.

Good luck in your new venture and you'll never regret switching to Mac.

Ian

OP
K
Reaction score