Powerbook - Good Value?

M

McGuillicuddy

Hi guys,

I'm a total Mac newbie, so please forgive me. I've been looking at getting a notebook for myself for a couple months now, and while I'd love to get a rip-roaring gaming notebook, it just isn't in the budget. So now I find myself comparing Centrino-based notebooks with the Mac iBooks and Powerbooks.

My needs can be summarized as light gaming (Warcraft 3, Call of Duty..I know Half-Life-2 is beyond any machine I can afford), internet surfing, office applications, occasional movie and some travel. I've been looking closely at the 12" Powerbook which should fit all of this nicely.

My question for you fine folks, is that on a bang-for-the-buck basis (i.e. performance per dollar), do you think the Powerbooks are good value for the money compared to Centrino notebooks?

Any input is appreciated!

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
13.3" 2.26 GHz MBP, 2GB RAM, 640GB HD
I have just purchased a mac ibook 12inch and just started using mac myself, i can honestly say for bang for the buck, i would recommend looking @ a centrino notebook for light gaming. I purchased the ibook b/c compared to similar centrino notebooks, i felt the ibook offered the better value in what it offered. In terms of the price of an powerbook 12 inch strictly for light gaming, i feel it may be overkill on the budget if you have one. i would look @ getting the 12 inch powerbook if you also plan to use it for slightly heavy photo and video editing. Otherwise I would recommend the ibook 12 inch (if it can handle those games you want to play). the dell 600m has dropped down in price since in the last month and dell will have good x'mas deals you may want to look at. personally i like the 12 inch powerbook but it is pricey for someone like myself who's main uses are internet, office apps and movies like yourself. Good luck!

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
15" MacBook Pro & 23" ACD