When i install new apps...

Reaction score
Hi, im a new mac fan, this is my first time with this OS and i dont know how to do anything.
My question is, when i install a new application on my macbook, Safari download the file on the desktop, then i cut the file and paste it in another folder i made for new apps, i install the app and when i run it, an i con like a HD appears on my desktop, theres any way i can make them dissapear from the desktop forever, i dont like my desktop full of icons.

Ty for ur help, Dave

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Mac's
Welcome to Mac-Forums Dave!

When you download an application you will see a .dmg on your desktop... double-click to open that (some auto-open to a new window).. a new window will open, and you will see the application Icon and probably a "Read Me" file. Simply click/hold on the application Icon and DRAG it to the Applications Folder. Now, close the window that still has the application Icon and the "read Me" file... now click/Hold the .dmg, and drag it to the trash.

Now go into the Applications Folder, and find the Icon you are looking for... Double-click to open the application, it will probably go through an initial install, then... you're done, all set.

It sounds like what you were doing is saving the .dmg (a common mistake when just getting stared) :D

Let us know if this helps or if you have any questions.

T

todd51

Those HD icons will come up every time you open up a .dmg file. They are image files that "mount" to the system as if it were a HD. After you drag the Application image out of that window like RIDE said, you can eject the HD icon by clicking it and dragging it to the trash.

If you put the Application icon into your Applications folder, then you dont' need the .dmg file anymore, and you can eject the image.

OP
D
Reaction score
Thank you so much

Thank you guys for your help, it works perfectly, thank you again

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Mac's
Enjoy your MacBook! Don't be a stranger