Mplabx

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
15" rMBP Mid-2014 ~ iPad 4 16GB ~ iPhone 6 Plus 16GB
Hi guys,

anyone running MPLAB X on OSX? I've always run it in a Windows VM for ease of maintenance, but I'd like to know how it runs under OSX and whether it'll hog the system much.

Now I've been using OSX for about two years and I still try and stick to that old Windows approach of installing as little as possible to avoid compromising performance. Is this also the case with OSX?

Thanks!

vansmith

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Mini (2014, 2018, 2020), MBA (2020), iPad Pro (2018), iPhone 13 Pro Max, Watch (S6)
I'm not familiar with the app but if it's free or if you have a license, why not just give it a try and see how it works? Odds are that you'll get better performance on the Mac instead of running through the VM unless it was a poor port of Windows software.

As for installing applications, my personal preference is to keep the machine as "clean" as possible. Although it does certain things better (and worse) than other platforms, it's still a computer that has to manage resources and such. Consequently, the more that is installed, the greater the chance that something can go wrong. That's not to say "don't install anything" but if you don't need something, remove it.

OP
C
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
I'm not familiar with the app but if it's free or if you have a license, why not just give it a try and see how it works? Odds are that you'll get better performance on the Mac instead of running through the VM unless it was a poor port of Windows software.