• Welcome to the Off-Topic/Schweb's Lounge

In addition to the Mac-Forums Community Guidelines, there are a few things you should pay attention to while in The Lounge.

Lounge Rules
    • If your post belongs in a different forum, please post it there.
    • While this area is for off-topic conversations, that doesn't mean that every conversation will be permitted. The moderators will, at their sole discretion, close or delete any threads which do not serve a beneficial purpose to the community.

Understand that while The Lounge is here as a place to relax and discuss random topics, that doesn't mean we will allow any topic. Topics which are inflammatory, hurtful, or otherwise clash with our Mac-Forums Community Guidelines will be removed.

Do your friends give you grief for switching to Mac?

Reaction score
This is just a fun one. I've been a Windows business application developer for over 25 years. A little over a year ago I made the switch to a 27" iMac, and I'm now working my way into being a Mac-based web developer (no fun programming in Windows anymore :( ).

I LOVE my iMac. So much so that I'm now the proud owner of a Mac Mini and a Mac Pro. I used to be very anti-Apple, but now am seeing benefits even in the things I slammed Macs for before. I am so much more productive now, and I love working on the Mac. It's fun again. It hardly feels like "work", anymore. :D

However, I'm now the only "outsider" in a huge herd of Windows programmers. You would not believe the harassment I take. I try to explain why the Mac is so good, but nobody listens. I have to think that I was like that at one time. I think you actually have to USE a Mac before you "get it". That's what got me.

Anyways, just wondering if I'm the only that takes harassment for the switch, or if there are others that get harassed by the Windows crowd.

chscag

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2017 27" iMac, 10.5" iPad Pro, iPhone 8, iPhone 11, iPhone 12 Mini, Numerous iPods, Monterey