iMac feedback

Reaction score
hi guys,

im new to the thread. Im a hobbyist photographer turned freelancer. I normally use my computer for post processing at home. I am really thinking of switching from my pc to an iMac 21.5 inch. I would like to gather some information and feedback from you all how is the experience doing photoshop/lightroom in a mac. this will be speed, resolution, etc..

I appreciate all your feedbacks.

thank you.

C

chas_m

I don't use Lightroom -- I use ACDSee Pro for Mac Beta instead -- but I do use Photoshop. Every day.

Rather than go on and on about it, I'll simply say that Photoshop was invented on, and for, the Macintosh. Macs are in VERY widespread use throughout the photographic, video and printing industries *for a reason,* and that reason isn't "because they're pretty."

The actual experience of JUST using Photoshop or Lightroom is likely to be very similar on either platform until you have to interface with the graphics system and the operating system. This is where the Mac truly shines. I promise you that once you get used to the different layout of the "alt/command/control" keys, you'll be MORE productive and efficient on the Mac.

But to address Speed and Resolution specifically: the chips the iMac uses are as fast as any offered on the consumer market today. The iMac also uses a high-quality IPS, LED-backlit screen which is quite expensive (more than half the entire cost of the computer), again the best quality screen available in a consumer machine.

Yes, the screen is "glossy": but in a home environment, this is a total non-issue. If you feel the need, there's some great calibration software out there to match to your printer; otherwise I find that most of the screens from Apple need very little tweaking to get very accurate results.

OP
S
Reaction score
i appreciate your response. thank you.