Just bought a gig of memory

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2.2GHZ Macbook Pro - 4GB RAM - 500GB HD
I went to put it in the left hand slot. It is Centon brand from Compusa. They recommended it for the mac.

I closed everything back up and it won't power on. I put the old memory back in and it won't power on.

I read that if it isn't seated correctly it won't power on.

I seated and reseated the old memory with no luck.

Any ideas? Did I do something wrong? I do this stuff for a living (Sun Unix Engineer) so I made sure I was grounded and I didn't force anything, etc...

Ideas?

Thanks!

Tim

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2.0 macbook
Well, is the battery set in correctly?
Sometimes we all miss the small things.

Btw- Cool job!

OP
mac747
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Techno Mutant said:
Well, is the battery set in correctly?
Sometimes we all miss the small things.

Btw- Cool job!

Thanks! I called Apple and they want me to call back tomorrow. They think it might be a hardware problem with the slot because the lever wouldn't eject the memory and return back to normal position.

Tim

Reaction score
mac747 said:
I went to put it in the left hand slot. It is Centon brand from Compusa. They recommended it for the mac.

I closed everything back up and it won't power on. I put the old memory back in and it won't power on.

I read that if it isn't seated correctly it won't power on.

I seated and reseated the old memory with no luck.

Any ideas? Did I do something wrong? I do this stuff for a living (Sun Unix Engineer) so I made sure I was grounded and I didn't force anything, etc...

Ideas?

Thanks!

Tim

In your other thread I notice you were advised not to buy the Centon ram as it was incompatible with your mac?

I'm a bit confused as to whether you went ahead and bought the Centon 512MB PC3200 200pin DDR SODIMM Memory Module after being advised that you needed DDR2 667mhz RAM for your MacBook.

OP
mac747
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Pulse-8 said: