Complete newbie-Which software? How to map drive?

Reaction score
I have my new C2D MBP on order and am a switcher from Windows XP and am wondering if there's any must have software out there, software that many mac users have. I know with Windows there are a few like this. Of course I know the mac has more built in programs and is easier to use so I likely won't need as many programs to buy.
I am undecided if I'll go with Safari for web browsing or Firefox. As well, for PIM use I'm not sure if I'll use Entourage or ical/address book/mail
What I will get though are Office 2004 since I do a lot of heavy office work as well as Macromedia/Adobe Suites since I do graphic design as well as web design.
Beyond that, I want a program that does good desktop video editing, a good newsgroup reader, probably will get toast platinum.
I will use my mac at home where I also have a home office and it's kind of going to be for all kinds of uses, maybe even a occasoinal game. I just want anything that will make my life even better wtih a mac. it's coming on Tuesday and I can't wait!

One last kind of unrelated thing. With Windows you can map a drive to a server computer. I do have a Windows based computer in my house I use as a server. I hope to switch that to a Mac Pro someday but with Xp I simply map it as a drive such as drive Z. Can I do the same with a Mac? I do have a friend who has one but his only complaint is you can select and log onto a server drive but as soon as you reboot the computer this drive is gone and you have to redo it each time.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
macbook
I think you've got pretty much all the you'll need listed; adobe apps, and probably Dreamweaver as well. With all that, and Office, you should be set to get on with work.

One thing I frequently do, is visit sites such as versiontracker.com, macupdate.com and one advertised here recently, mac.sixfiles.com. When you need other apps, those are great places to look.