Need some repair help, iMac G5 17" 1.8ghz

ixi

Reaction score
So I bought two G5 17" iMacs from a guy for a great deal. One is a 1.6ghz and the other 1.8ghz (not working) One works perfectly, no problems. The other seems to have a hard drive problem. I have the two computers opened up side by side so I can swap stuff out and rule out components.

http://i35.tinypic.com/2db2f0w.jpg

I'm fairly new to repairing this stuff but I like to tinker and I think I can do this.

The guy who I bought it from said he had someone look at it (I'm not sure of his skill level) and he could get it to restart and work fine for a few days after he "opened it up and reconnected the hard drive and could probably be repaired if it was just soldered in place."

You can see in this pic that this connection has been marked by a magic marker and is probably the issue.

http://i37.tinypic.com/or5yef.jpg

First off, the #1 green light lights up but stops there.

I've swapped hard drives with the other computer so I know it isn't that nor is it the wiring going to or from the hard drive.

What can I check from here. Can I check things with a multimeter? It seems like there is just a short or bad connection at the point marked by the magic marker.

Also, this part is on the working computer but not on the other, what is it?

http://i36.tinypic.com/2llzy1k.jpg

Thanks for any help and your patience.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MBP - 15in, 2.66ghz, 8gb RAM, 2x GPU, 320gb HDD
That connector is most likely your problem. Also that chip in the second picture didnt look like it should be there so i did some research and none of the G5s ive seen have that in them. Unfortunately i do not have a G5 at my disposal to take apart or i would.. Sorry my answer is so vague.. its kind of hard to tell what really is the issues :(

dtravis7

Retired Staff
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacMini M-1 MacOS Monterey, iMac 2010 27"Quad I7 , MBPLate2011, iPad Pro10.5", iPhoneSE