Is it possible to substitute a 24" iMac with..

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Macbook 2/2
A Mac Mini + a TV such as a 26" flat screen Sony?

I am just weighing my options before I press submit (Again)..

I feel paying Around $1,900 for a new iMac is like paying a premium for having the 'all in one', which I am sure it is, no doubt, but being a finance student, I am interested in maximizing my dollar.

I previously had the Samsung 22" 226bw monitor hooked up to my Macbook, and it really looked like . Everything was exploded looking, and the colours were never accurate, no matter how many times I calibrated it.

The big question: What 24-26" Monitor could I hook up to a Mac Mini and receive optimal, if not better visual representation, than a 24" iMac?

Thanks from Toronto - Trevor

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Mac Pro 14gb ram 24" LED Cd & 23" Cd
No Tv is going to display as well as a computer monitor Trevor. There is a post on this somewhere around.

I just, 10 minutes ago ordered a 24" imac, and I don't think a mac mini and a tv would replace it at all.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Mac Studio, M1 Max, 32 GB RAM, 2 TB SSD
The mini does not have a graphics card - it uses motherboard graphics. There is a big difference right there. Also, the iMac has faster processors than the Mini line, so the machine will run faster too.

The iMac is actually a pretty good deal when you consider everything that comes with it. I would get the iMac.

OP
T
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Macbook 2/2
Great suggestions, thanks guys..

With that said, I have a pending order for a Refurbished iMac from Apple.. Should I cancel and buy new, or keep the order?

Feeling a little sketchy about that one..

dtravis7

Retired Staff
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacMini M-1 MacOS Monterey, iMac 2010 27"Quad I7 , MBPLate2011, iPad Pro10.5", iPhoneSE